Nothing interesting happens on Wednesdays

A few pointless and inconsequential things happened today.

I got a new water bottle, because the last one got nicked. This happens from time to time, and I actually welcome it, because it’s the only reason I ever change my water bottle, and I really don’t want to think about how many organisms there are in the average four-month-old courier’s water bottle. I don’t ever wash it. Because it’s being perpetually washed by the water it contains – right? (See earlier post on dubious courier hygiene practices.)

But why would anyone want to steal my grotty old water bottle? This continues to mystify me.

Most pointless delivery of the day (probably): an empty file. (Delivered from the other side of town to an office right upstairs from a pretty good stationery shop.)

Liam from Fullcity had a baby (with a little help from his wife). But that’s not pointless and inconsequential – that’s Big News.

Everyone else at Fullcity had free food. Jim (the gent in the background, truing a wheel) has recently stopped being a courier and started delivering sandwiches for a living – and he gets to help himself to the leftovers at the end of the day. We all like him a lot more than we used to.

I carried my biggest package yet. Admittedly not for work – I picked up some boxes from a friend, to help me move house on Saturday. God, where would we be without bungees and gaffer tape?

2 Responses to “Nothing interesting happens on Wednesdays”

  1. redbike Says:

    I’ve been searching high and low for one of those Science in Action water bottles. I’ve bought some Go energy powder. Without that bottle i’ve no idea how much powder to use in each drink.

  2. thatmessengerchick Says:

    I’m afraid I bought the last one from Condor. But you’re welcome to steal it from my bike if you spot it, so that I can buy a clean one.

Leave a Reply

