I know what you had for breakfast

Greg: “Four Weetabix, lots of sugar, and shitloads of cold full-fat milk – and a big fat bastard’s mug of coffee. Or a full English when I can afford it.”

Dave: “A huge bowl of own-brand oat crisp cereal with freeze-dried strawberries, with about 60% full-fat milk and 40% double cream. I get about two-and-a-half bowls out of each pack, and I reckon it adds up to about 2000 Kcal.”

Rita: “Tea and a ciggie.”

Jim:“I had Just Right cereal with whole milk – there’s no other kind; everything else is just sham – and then I picked the dried lint from my couch to see if there were any pieces of cheese there from before. I found a good one.”

Sam: “Macdonalds. Hangover food.”

Arsen: “Cereal, bananas, fruit and toast. I have Fruit and Fibre, or whatever’s on sale. With full-fat milk. Oh, and strong coffee.”

Dave: “Nothing. No really, nothing.”

Liz: “Half a tin of beans, three slices of bread, whatever bacon is left in the fridge, fried potatos, pinapple as a breakfast pudding. I am mostly powered by bacon and Kitkat Chunkies.”

7 Responses to “I know what you had for breakfast”

  1. Exenger of Doom Says:

    Another insightful and interesting post. Excellent work

  2. Twitch/ Papa 27 Says:

    God.. I recognise like 2 of those faces.. and I’ve only been off the road a year. I never took breakfast as seriously as I should after I left city sprint, where breakfast was usually large bowl of ceral (or 2), 4 pieces of toast and 2 cups of coffee… but that was it the days even your average rider really could do £450+ every week. Though as one of their top earner marco used to say, he was spending no less than a tenner at work a day on food… not inculding his coffee…

  3. Lucy Says:

    What did you have?

  4. The Greek Says:

    Stumbled on your blog a week ago it’s great reading. I’ve been a messenger in manhattan for just over a year. Usually brekfast consists of 3 eggs w/ cheese, bacon, 2 slices toast butter & jelly, 2-3 strong coffees, milk, fruit. If you’re ever in NY again shoot me an email….

  5. thatmessengerchick Says:

    Will do! I have no reason to go back to New York, apart from the fact that I really really want to. Might see you next year…

  6. Liz Says:

    So are you going to follow up with “I know what you had for dinner”?

    At least 2 out of 7 dinners seem to consist of meal replacement shakes (ie pints of cider outside the blue posts).

  7. thatmessengerchick Says:

    Liz, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: you and your appetite are an inspiration to us all.

Leave a Reply

