Exenger fantasies

I ran into Lloyd the other day.

Until two weeks ago he was a cycle courier – now he’s an engineer of some sort, who goes around town fixing photocopiers, for a regular wage. As you can see, this makes him very happy.

I didn’t recognize him at first. He walked past me and said “hello”, and I looked up and said “hello …oh hello!“, and even then took a couple more seconds to work out where I knew him from. It’s amazing the difference normal clothes and a bit of a wash will make.

I have my own fantasy, of one day getting a high-powered job in the City, and standing in lifts in my pinstripe suit, next to couriers I used to pass in the street on my bike, and seeing how long it takes them to recognize me.

Luckily, one of the defining features of a fantasy is that it isn’t fulfilled.

3 Responses to “Exenger fantasies”

  1. Redbike Says:

    Any ideas what you want to do BMG?

    I’m seriously looking at changing jobs. At the moment its more a question of where than what. I’m going to stay a draughtsman but I fancy moving to somewhere hilly and green.

  2. thatmessengerchick Says:

    If only I knew…

  3. “Exenger” update…on course for the OED? « Platform 3 Says:

    […] Exhibit C – The entertaining thatmessengerchick blog recently had a piece called “Exenger fantasies” […]

Leave a Reply

