Sleepiness

I’m very very tired at the moment – as in, tireder than I normally am by Thursday*. As in, so tired that I actually bother to mention it. I think it might have something to do with Too Much Cycling and Not Enough Rest Days. I’ve been riding at least one day most weekends, and I haven’t had a holiday since …well, New York, but that was in March, and I did quite a bit of cycling there. Oh, and there was that Cornwall trip, but that involved quite a lot of cycling too.

So anyway, while I wait for my jacket potato to cook, and try to work out the most cost-effective way of spending a week Not Cycling, here’s some recent photos, since I don’t have the mental energy to say anything interesting.

I found a very tall iron pole at the top of the hill I live on. I have no idea what it’s for, or how long it might have been there. But it’s kind of cool.

I discovered you can get cupcakes in London too. This could be dangerous.

I’ve become very interested in scaffolding recently.

And in buildings that are half torn down.

Especially when you can see the sky through them.

I think this must be the old font of St Olave’s Church on London Wall (at the top of Noble Street; now just a small green garden with a few rocks in it). I like the contrast of the very old stone with the brand new buildings behind it.

Photos I wish I’d taken.

Four ducks flying down Aldersgate Street, quacking loudly.

The beetroot salad that leaked all over my bag. Thankfully, the inside of my bag is already pink. Unfortunately, the packages I was carrying weren’t.

The woman doing her eye makeup whilst driving over Blackfriars Bridge. In case you’ve never put on eye makeup before, it involves both hands, and lots of squinting into mirrors whilst holding one eye closed. And she was in a left-hand drive vehicle. I don’t know whether to be outraged or impressed – after all, I can’t drive or apply eye makeup, let alone both at once.

*Thursday is the toughest day of the week in my opinion – somehow Fridays are always a bit easier, even though you’ve got four days behind you instead of three. I think it has something to do with knowing you’re in the home straight, and that you don’t have to hold anything back for the next day. I always ride a lot faster on Fridays. And Mondays. Sometimes I get up to 11mph.

3 Responses to “Sleepiness”

  1. Lee Says:

    “The woman doing her eye makeup whilst driving over Blackfriars Bridge.” Needs locking up….

    “Thursday is the toughest day of the week in my opinion – somehow Fridays are always a bit easier, even though you’ve got four days behind you instead of three. I think it has something to do with knowing you’re in the home straight, and that you don’t have to hold anything back for the next day.”

    Got to agree with that

    Possibly also because I usually would get slack in the middle of the week and go to bed too late, or go to the pub or drink a bottle of wine or something. I’d start the week really disciplined with early nights and regular, healthy meals etc. but by Wednesday night I’d have given up

  2. Maggie Says:

    The pole is probably a Victorian stench pipe. They were designed to relieve the sewers, so they don’t fill to bursting with noxious gasses. It’s really tall so that the gasses are dispersed up above where one might smell them. They are scattered across South London.

  3. Cake in a Box Lady Says:

    I was searching through Google doing research for a blog when i came across this article and I found it very informative and interesting even though it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for the info. Thanks Suzanne xx

Leave a Reply

