The second most annoying loading bay in London

55 Basinghall Street.

You lock your bike up, sign in with the security guard (“thanks sweetie!”), and take the goods lift two floors down to the postroom. So far, so normal.

But the postroom is deserted, and a sign advises you to “call 07*** ******, and someone will be along shortly”.

So you get your mobile out – no signal. Bah.

So you wait. Ten minutes pass.

You take the lift back to the loading bay. This is complicated by the eccentric numeration of the building’s floors.

4
3
2
1
LG
B

No ground floor. The first time I came here it took me three tries to get back to street level.

You explain to the security guard that the postroom is deserted. He refuses to sign for the package, and tells you to go back down to the basement and wait in the postroom. You explain that this this package contains urgent documents (well, you never know – it might), and that you have other things to do, and can’t afford to stand around indefinitely waiting for a postroom guy who might or might not show up.

He refuses to sign for the package and tells you to go back down to the basement and wait in the postroom.

The argument repeats itself.

Eventually he gets bored and calls his superior, who isn’t authorized to sign for the package either, but finally gives in and sends you up to the main reception on the seventh floor, with an “on your own head be it” sucking of his teeth.

And a perfectly nice receptionist signs for the package with no quibbles at all, and you wonder why you couldn’t just have gone straight there in the first place.

In fact, in future I think I will.

7 Responses to “The second most annoying loading bay in London”

  1. Nico Says:

    I’d second that, always go to the receptionist. Where I work, and I guess in most other places in London, security are outsourced and not “proper” employees, and therefore not to be trusted with any business material, whereas receptionists are. Now why we trust them to look after the place 24/7 (and our bikes! we have racks in the garage) and not sign for packaged material is a bit of a mystery to me…

    • thatmessengerchick Says:

      Ah, but it’s often very hard to get past the security guards, and because they have almost zero authority, they’re absolute sticklers for The Rules – no matter how ridiculous these might be. I’ve often got into pointless arguments with them over WHY I have to lock up my bike outside the building and walk down the ramp into the loading bay, when it would be both quicker and safer just to ride. And some of them refuse point blank to let me through the barriers, and insist that I get off and carry my bike around the edge, even though it would only take the touch of a button, and save us both a lot of time and angst.

      But then I remember that they don’t make the rules, and they’ll probably get into trouble for breaking them, no matter how stupid they are. (The rules that is, not the security guards. I never underestimate the intelligence of security guards since I caught one reading Hegel under the desk.)

  2. welshcyclist Says:

    I was in London last Saturday, for the Bike SHow, yes I know sad, but the Underground was the same for me. It was obvious how to get from A to B, but I was still panic stricken with doubt, over my decisions.

  3. shannon Says:

    If thats the second worst, would love to hear about the worst!

  4. thatmessengerchick Says:

    This is the worst.

    https://thatmessengerchick.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/the-most-annoying-loading-bay-in-london/

  5. tim Says:

    111 Buckingham Palace Road is a fecker to find if you’ve never been there before.

  6. f. Says:

    it took me a while to find the exit on that shithole too, but fuck that postroom i just wait and get some waiting time, fuck it, make em pay!

Leave a Reply

